You haven’t lived until you’ve thrown up at work

SATURDAY – So no more night shifts for me while I’m pregnant. Around midnight my stomach just all of a sudden felt really terrible. Pain and nausea and it felt like there is a rock in my stomach. I threw up at 2am, 4am, and 6am. There is nothing left in there. I feel emptier but not altogether better. This is the first time I’ve thrown up during this pregnancy, and the first time I’ve thrown up as an adult other than a couple incidents involving alcohol.

TUESDAY – Now here I am, 3 days later waiting to see a doctor. Michael insisted he’s really gunning for them to give me an iv. I just want to take my pity party home. Everything I’ve read says if diarrhea persists for more than 48 hours, see a doctor, especially if you’re pregnant. Fine I guess, it was 60 hours when I got here, and now it’s been 63. I do feel rather crappy, and all I’ve eaten today so far had been an apple with a little bit of peanut butter, a pickle, and a bottle of Gatorade, which is significantly less than I ate yesterday. I’m also more nauseated than yesterday. Ugh. Maybe an iv wouldn’t be a terrible thing.

UPDATE: I waited 7.5 hours to see the doctor. They gave me an iv bag for hydration and added some iv gravol for my stomach. I felt like an entirely different person after the iv. I really don’t think I could have re hydrated myself on my own. I’m still a little pissed I had to wait that long, but I’m happy everything is ok, and baby is fine 🙂

Leave a Reply

