Week 16 starts today!

Finally! I know it’s just an extra week, but wow. I really enjoy my weekly emails and pop up updates from my tracking app. Getting the same one two weeks in a row was kind of sucky! Technically I "level up" on Wednesday’s now, so prepare for a little bit of jagged transition time.+

​​​​

Weight gained: Ummmmm. What the heck happened this week????? Up 3.7 pounds….. Total gain: 2 pounds. I know it doesn’t seem like a lot, but all at once?!!?!?! I have to resign myself to the fact that weight gain is healthy and to be expected…. by why so much this week???? I hope it’s just because I’ve been a bit "plugged up" if you know what I mean.

Workouts: Minimal again. I caught a cold on Friday when I went to my prenatal appointment, which dragged along until Monday, which meant no Spin class on Sunday. But I did spin on Tuesday! It took 20 minutes for me to get out of "ACK Why am I here, I hate this?!!!" mode, and into "oh gosh, working out feels so good!". Wednesday took the dogs for a walk with Mike. We’re dog sitting for his parents until February 9th. I’m starting to feel better, so hopefully this week will be more productive in that department.

Symptoms: Some round ligament pains. And laughing has become something I feel in my lower abdominal muscles. It feels like I did a hundred reverse crunches whenever I laugh.

Food Aversions: None

Food Cravings: Popsicles. Mmmmmmmmmmmm. I think it’s just the sugar, and the cold, but whatever. I’m indulging. And water. Can’t get enough water.

Baby Bump: I don’t think it’s gotten any bigger in the last week. I feel like I’ve gotten bigger everywhere else though. But it’s really just seeing myself with different glasses on. My thighs haven’t gotten bigger, nor has my waist, or my arms, I think I’m just being overly critical right now, and not being able to really work out two weeks in a row has been hard. (though according to my weigh in, I gained a bunch of weight!!!). Ok. maybe if I look between last week and this week, I can see a visible change… and my back is starting to curve a lot more.

Sleep: TERRIBLE. My cold dragged along until Monday, and I stayed home to sleep it off. Still felt like crap, on Tuesday I went to work anyway, because report cards are coming up! Pretty sure my cold has progressed into a sinus infection based on the colour of mucus coming out of my nose. I’ve been having hot baths, gargling with salt water, and using my netti pot in an effort to keep it at bay, but I keep waking up in the middle of the night with a super plugged nose, dry mouth, hacking cough, and throat on fire! I took one tyleonol last night, and it helped a little bit, but by that time it was already 4am. Normally, I’d take a couple Advil cold and sinus, or a swig of cough syrup, and drift back into la la land. It is a LOT harder without that. Last night was the first night in almost a week that I didn’t wake up for an hour or two during the night.

Maternity clothes: Look and feel awesome! I’m thinking I might need to get a couple pairs of maternity workout pants, as my current ones make my iddy biddy baby bump really uncomfortable when I wear them. 😦 Also still on the lookout for a good maternity swim suit (or just a tankini top). Mine is not very supportive in the chest area, and it’s starting to grow again…. 😀

Stretch marks: Still none.

Miss Anything: Sleeping through the night, and pooping on a regular basis.

Fun & Weird Stuff From the Week: I’ve had a few stints of preggo rage….. oops! 1) Went down to the lab to book my next ultrasound. No receptionist, she was on break. I waited 10 minutes, and I knew damn well she’d be on break for a lot longer…. I may have gotten grumpy at one of the lab technicians and told her to find someone to book my damn appointment. 2) Someone stole my pen from my mailbox at school. For the 4th or 5th time. Come on teachers… really? If you look at the side bar in my blog, in the Instagram feed, you’ll see a picture of the passive aggressive note I attached to my pen this time.

Baby Items Purchased: Nothing this week. Lots of window shopping though. I think I’ve come to terms with not buying a bassinet. I bought one from a woman in town, and it was disgusting and dirty, and stained. I’m making it sound like a back alley mattress, which it wasn’t, but I’m definitely not going to put my precious newborn in that! I think perhaps we’ll go the Finnish route and get a box/laundry basket for baby to sleep in until they’re in their own room (Why Canadian babies should sleep in cardboard boxes like Finnish babies do.) Really, what does baby care what kind of container they sleep in? They don’t. 🙂 ​​​​

Looking Forward To: Sleep. Or just not being sick would be awesome. I’m also looking forward to reading Ina May’s "Guide to Childbirth", which came in the mail yesterday! Natural birth, here we come 🙂

Leave a Reply

