Week 18 – not for the faint of heart

Well how blonde am I? This whole time I’ve thought my week progression was counting the weeks as I entered them. . . .NOPE! It’s completed weeks. So I’ve officially completed week 18! AWESOME!

image

image

Weight gained: -0.5 pounds this week, for a total of 2.4 pounds

Workouts: 0 😦 This darned cold has morphed into something else. Last week I felt kind of crappy, but still able to function. This week, it just didn’t happen.

Symptoms: GROSSNESS WARNING! Big TMI here…. On Thursday when I weighed myself I was up 2.2 pounds. I suspected most of my weight gain this week was because I hadn’t had a bowel movement since Monday. THE FOLLOWING WAS TYPED THURSDAY: I’m doing a waddle of a walk, not because I have a big baby, but because I have waste material that just doesn’t want to part ways, and it hurts to sit down. I have noticed that when I’m working out in a regular routine, it is much easier to go, so note to self, even when I’m feeling terrible, I still need to get up and go for a walk around the block. This internal backup led to some pretty sudden nausea last night. I couldn’t figure it out, but this morning I tried to go (the urge was there, and so is the matter) and then when I got to school I tried again. Then I had a mega urge to go at 11:00… but still nothing. My arse hurts from the build up, sitting normally is uncomfortable. I took 2 stool softeners (don’t worry, I checked with a pharmacist first) and they gave me incredible stomach pain for about 20 minutes. I’m falling apart, but I have nowhere to go. Every time I have to go to the bathroom, there are these waves of muscle contractions, like the kind you get when you’re going to puke, I can just feel these crazy contractions washing over me and I’m helpless. . I carpooled to work this morning, have classes until 3:30, and I live an hour and a half away. THIS WAS TYPED FRIDAY: Ok. Thursday was a terrifying day. Every time I went to the washroom I could feel my body trying to evacuate itself. And it was literally RIGHT THERE….. by the end of the day, the blockage was so bad, my urethra was cut off and I couldn’t even pee. My principal let me skip evening parent/teacher interviews since I had none anyway. Let’s just say when I got home, I took things into my own hands. And again this morning. Oi Vey. I started taking my prenatal vitamins with prune juice in the morning.

Food Aversions: none

Food Cravings: Sugar. I want sweets most of the time. And I’ve kind of been letting myself have them. Shame shame I know. The swirlio helped

Baby Bump:still there. Changes depending on time of day or what I’ve eaten lol

Sleep: starting to return to better sleep patterns. Woke up for only 1 pee this morning, then woke up at 5:20 (which is 10 minutes after my alarm goes off on a normal day)

Maternity clothes: I am almost exclusively wearing maternity clothing now. I need to get 2 more pairs of

Stretch marks: I found some last night when I was twisting and turning and pulling skin etc. But they’re old from when I was like 12 and got hips haha. So none.

Miss Anything: Being able to spoon Mike properly. I have to angle away a little.

Fun & Weird Stuff From the Week: Last night when we were in bed, Michael put his hand on the baby for the first time 🙂 Baby’s been pretty calm lately, though I did feel one ninja kick this week that was quite a bit more than the flutters I’m accustomed to.

Baby Items Purchased: None. But I saw a bunch of cute socks that I reeeeeeeeeeeeeeally wanted to purchase, but they were pretty gender specific.

image

Looking Forward To: Mike being able to feel the baby move 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

